Birmingham Zoo
  • Today's Regular Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.


All News

Birmingham Zoo Announces 2017-2018 Board of Directors

The Birmingham Zoo is pleased to announce new members and welcome back former members to the Board of Directors for the Zoo. The Board is composed of eighteen professionals in the Birmingham area, who share the Zoo’s belief in “Inspiring Passion for the Natural World.” The Board welcomes three new members this year, Philippe W. Lathrop, Lee McKinney and Jerry Perkins, Jr.

The 2017-2018 Board Officers are Cissy Jackson, Chairman, Robert Aland, Vice-Chairman, Thomas E. Sisson, Treasurer, David Loper, Secretary, and Wally Nall, III, Immediate Past Chairman. The Board of Directors are Leigh Collier, Mark Crosswhite, Jack Darnall, Austin Davis, Nancy Collat Goedecke, Gaynell H. Hendricks, Doug Jones, Randall W. Jordan, Philippe W. Lathrop, Lee McKinney, Jerry Perkins, Jr., Laura Pitts and Britt Redden.

“With the recent opening and dedication of the new Henley Park event lawn at the Birmingham Zoo, we were able to reflect on the importance of the Zoo’s Board of Directors, and thank current and past members for all they have done for the Zoo,” said William Foster, Birmingham Zoo President and CEO. “This is a remarkable group of individuals who all bring different strengths to the table and we are certain they will help lead the Zoo as it works to ‘Inspire Passion for the Natural World’.”

In addition to announcing the new Board of Directors, the Zoo welcomes the newly elected Junior Board members Dane Cooper, Tony Crocker, Gabe Harris, Nick Maroules, Aaron Nelson, Jake Rogers, Dustin Ward and Wilson Yeilding. The officers are Tim Hennessy, Jr., President, J. Chris Mason, Secretary/Treasurer and Amanda Hawkins, Past President and Advisor. The Zoo is excited to welcome returning Junior Board Members Rosemary Alexander, Frank Anderson, Louis Anderson, Courtney Patton DeShazo, Krystal Drummond, Joey DuMontier, Jayna Goedecke, Joe Gribbin, Fontaine Haskell, Eve Hennessy, Madison Merrill, Meg Ross Sartain, Brandon Stewart, Caroline Walker, Drew Weil and Cory Wilson.